The Divine Lamp

The unfolding of thy words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple…Make thy face shine upon thy servant, and teach me thy statutes

Fathers Nolan’s and Brown’s Commentary on John 15:9-11

Posted by Dim Bulb on May 5, 2012

Joh 15:9  As the Father hath loved me, I also have loved you. Abide in my love.

As ( καθως = kathos) expresses not equality, but resemblance. The resemblance consists in this, that as the Father loved Christ’s humanity gratuitously, without any previous merit on its part, and united it with the Person of the Word, so Christ loved the disciples gratuitously, and united them with Himself. So Toletus, following St. Aug. Then Christ adds as a practical conclusion: Take care to remain in the enjoyment of that love of Mine for you. Or the meaning of the whole verse according to the Greek text may be: as the Father hath loved Me, and as I have loved you, so abide ye in the enjoyment of that love of Mine for you.

Joh 15:10  If you keep my commandments, you shall abide in my love: as I also have kept my Father’s commandments and do abide in his love.

Here He points out how they are to continue to enjoy His love: it is by keeping His commandments.

Joh 15:11  These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and your joy may be filled.

The meaning is: these things, namely, that you should keep My commandments and continue to retain My love, I have spoken in order that My joy on account of youmay continue (the true reading is η, not μεινη, but does not alter the sense), and your joy may be perfected.

2 Responses to “Fathers Nolan’s and Brown’s Commentary on John 15:9-11”

  1. […] Fathers Nolan’s and Brown’s Commentary on Today’s Gospel (John 15:9-11). […]

  2. […] Fathers Nolan’s and Brown’s Commentary on Today’s Gospel (John 15:9-11). […]

Leave a Reply

 
