The Divine Lamp

Archive for January 6th, 2010

Blah, Blah, Blah. Transparency, Blah, Blah, Blah

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 6, 2010

H/T to Gateway Pundit.  My question is what accounts for this: Logomania? AboulomaniaOnomatomaniaMonomaniaEgomaniaOligomaniaSquandermania? HylomaniaEmpleomania? EntheomaniaMythomaniaHabromaniaHagiomaniaMegalomaniaPoliticomania? Pseudomania?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Blah, Blah, Blah. Transparency, Blah,…“, posted with vodpod

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

Greetings From the Unhappiest State In The Union

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 6, 2010

It’s more than just the 6 months of snowy weather and lack of sunshine.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

My New Computer

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 6, 2010

DSCF0591

My computer crapped out a few months ago (Late July), an event I saw coming, and so I was able to save up for this one, which I purchased shortly after the demise of my old one in early August.  I posted about my new ‘puter on that occassion (see next paragraph) but was unable to post a picture at the time.
My Computer failed (and I mean failed badly) this past tuesday evening.  As I noted in a previous post I had forseen this day coming and for the last 8 or 9 months I’ve been pinching nickels ’til they scream in order to save up enough for a new computer.  I am pleased to announce that I am now financially destitute (I kind of feel like a politician in Albany or DC) and yet still the proud owner of my very own Dell Inspiron.  It has 4GB of RAM and 500 GB of Hard Drive.

The keyboard is slightly different from the previous Dell; for example, the shift key is not as long.  I’ve already noticed that this makes a difference as I sometimes push the key immediately to the right of it.  The screen is not as high as the previous one, but it is wider.  It is going to take some getting use to.  I had a little trouble setting it up but Marty and a friend of his were able to help.

In case you’re wondering about the books, the one on the left is the Navarre Bible Commentary on the Minor Prophets, and the one on the right is the Mark and Luke volume of The Great Commentary Of Cornelius a Lapide.  Both were given to me as gifts.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Spiritual Thought: January 6th

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 6, 2010

The heavens glow with the calm radiance of Stars,
While earth itself lies at peace beneath their light,
Because you, O Lord,
Have deigned to leave your resting place
And showed yourself in our world.

Since you have come to redeem this world,
Heal our sorrowing hearts;
Give such light to our eyes
As may purify them
And enable us forever to meet your gaze.

May we who proclaim the Good News
Of your Epiphany to the nations,
Rejoice with you in never-ending gladness.~Ancient Prayer.

Today is the normal Solemnity of the Epiphany which, due to a decision of the episcopal conference, is celebrated here in the US on the Sunday falling between Jan. 2 and Jan. 8.  I posted resources for the Epiphany here.

Posted in Devotional Resources, Meditations, Quotes | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »