The Divine Lamp

Archive for January 11th, 2010

My Not So New “New” Book Came Today

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 11, 2010

Last week I used an Amazon Gift card to buy a used copy of Father Joseph Fitzmyer’s THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO LUKE I-IX, volume 28 of the Anchor Bible Series.  It arrived today.  The dust jacket is a little worn and some of the text in the early chapters has been highlighted, but all in all it’s in good shape, just as the seller claimed.  Of the four Gospels Luke is the one I’ve least studied and studying this work is an attempt to correct that situation.

I suspect blogging will be light for a while as the book is 837 pages long, including 280 pages of introduction.  My next book will be the second half of the work, chapters X-XXIV, provided of course that the current volume doesn’t prove to be too technical for my abilities.  Wish me luck.

Posted in Bible, Books | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »

Spiritual Thought: January 11th

Posted by carmelcutthroat on January 11, 2010

How great a gain is a soul saved for our Lord!  But this is not the work of man whose words can only reach the ear: it is God who changes the heart.~Blessed Antonio Rosmini Serbati, Letter #592.

Therefore neither he that planteth is anything, nor he that watereth, but God that giveth the increase (1 Cor 3:7)

Posted in Bible, Devotional Resources, Meditations | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »